Hilly 21

Ran under CTT rules, details to follow.

See Gallery for photos

Event Info

On a beautiful spring March day Dominic Munnelly of KB Cycles blew everyone away with panache, even complaining that he did not have a big enough gear for the tailwind section between Cambo and scots Gap. He took 1min 23 seconds out of Simon Baxter of Adept Precision and 2min 20 seconds out of Ian Taylor of the NFM Racing Team. With a ride of 45min 37 seconds for the tough hilly 21 miles between Balsay, Scots Gap, Cambo and back to Belsay. An average of 28mph for the course. Although not a course record it was very close to it.

The wind, light at first, became stronger as the day wore on making it quite tough on the outward leg, particularly up to the turn before Cambo. The sky cloude over and with the rising wind made it colder and tougher for the later starters. Despite the worsening conditions there were some very good times laid down. The late departed champion, Wes Clayton would have been proud ot them.

The first lady was Julie Cook of AlturaRT with a time of 52min 30secs, which placed her 18th overall out of 50 entrants, beating a lot of very capable men into the bargain.

The first junior was Rob graham of Lotto Olympic Team Interbike with 51min 49sec and first juvenile was Kyle watts of Tyneside Vags with 1hr 15min 21sec a time he will surely beat by a considerable margin as he grows stronger.. This was his first race.

The first veteran on age standard was ronnie Thompson of Derwentside CC with a plus of 21 min 50sec.

The team award went to Altura RT with the combined time of 2hrs 27min 18sec

The fastest veteran was David Cook of Altura RT with 48min 00sec.

Full Results

PositionRiderNameClubTimeAvg Spd
1D MunnellyK B Cycles RT 45:37 27.62  
2S BaxterAdept Precision RT 47:00 26.81  
3I TaylorNFM Racing Team 47:57 26.28  
4I JonesAltura RT 47:58 26.27  
5D CookAltura RT 48:00 26.25  
6K MurrayWestbrook Cycles 48:14 26.12  
7N PaytonSwift Racing 49:34 25.42  
8H MaughnRyton Tri 49:59 25.21  
9M MallenGS Metro 50:07 25.14  
10J AlderBishop Auckland CC 50:12 25.10