Ballantyne Trophy

“Held under the technical regulations of British Cycling”

On Sunday the 10th of May 2009, at The Parish Hall, Church Street, Rothbury

The race is run in memory of Alan Ballantyne, who used to be a member of the Tyne Olympic CC, and came from Lemington, Newcastle upon Tyne.  Alan sadly died when aged only eighteen years, one evening whilst out running with the Elswick Harriers.  Alan was a talented young cyclist and a popular member of his club.  Following his death his father sold Alan’s bike, and the money raised was put to buying The Ballantyne Memorial Trophy.  The Barnesbury Cycling club has promoted the Ballantyne this 1963.

The race allows for entry on the line, so please encourage your club mates to come along and E on L.  Extra prizes will be posted out if extra income is generated from entry on the line.  At last years race a further £60 in prizes were posted out.  Please note, if you don’t have a hard shell helmet you will not be riding, following cars are not permitted.  And there will be no neutral service.

Riders are to assemble at 10.20am at the start of the neutral section, which will be directly outside the race HQ on Church street.  At 10.25am the race safety briefing will take place.  At 10.30am the race will begin the short neutral section north along Church street to turn left onto the high street (riders to give way to traffic in neutral section).  After approximately 100 metres westbound on the High Street, the Union Flag will be dropped and the race will start proper.  Riders are then to continue in a westerly direction on the B6341to Thropton, riders are to exercise care when crossing the Bridge in Thropton.  The route continues on the B6341 all the way to the first prime at Bilsmoor, then on into Elsdon.  In Elsdon the race turns left at the start of the village green unto unclassified road (M).  The race then continues in a south easterly direction to the next Prime at Winter’s Gibbet.  Then continues onto Harwood Gate (start of circuit), here the race turns right(M) onto the B6342 to held in a southerly direction.  When the race reaches Cambo the course turns left (M)onto B6343 to head in an easterly direction.  In Scot’s Gap the race turns left (M) to head north on unclassified road over Rothley Crags, and onto Rothley crossroads.  Here the race turns left (M) onto the B6342 to return to Harwood Gate to complete one lap.  Riders are then required to complete a further two laps, then continue on as if completing another lap.  But when arriving at Rothley Crossroads, then are to continue straight on onto the B6342 north bound.  Then continue over Ewesley Fell and Coldrife please note there is no prime on Coldrife then continue to Ascend Garleigh Moor.  The finish will be on the top of Garleigh Moor, 100 metres south of where the unclassified road from the Lee  joins the B6342.  For a race distance of 89 km.

Please note that there will be an intermediate sprint competition at The Scot’s Gap village sign, the second time the race arrives in Scot’s Gap.  And there will also be primes on Rothley Crags on the 2nd and 3rd assents.  King of the mountains points will also be awarded at the top of Garleigh (finish line).

KOM points (Bilsmoor and The Gibbet)
1st = 10 points, 2nd = 6 points 3rd = 4 points

KOM points for Garleigh
1st = 5 points, 2nd = 3points 3rd = 2 points  (but these points will be doubled as mountain top finish)

KOM points for Rothley Crags
1st = 3 points, 2nd = 2 points, 3rd = 1 point

1st place £50 and The Ballantyne Trophy to be held for one year
2nd place £20
3rd place £15
4th place £15

The Winner of the prime will win a Gibbet cake.
King of the mountains competition £20
The Dave Walton Memorial Sprint (Scot’s Gap) £15
First Junior £15

The race would like to thank Mr Aidan MacDermott for kindly agreeing to be assistant commissaire.  The race would also like to thank the All Saint’s church for kindly letting us use the Parish Hall.  Thanks also to Marion Graham of The cyclist’s café in Elsdon for kindly donating prize for the Gibbet prime.  Riders are requested to park considerately and not to drop litter.  Riders should not leave valuables in the hall during the race.  Any complaints regarding the race should be made in writing and sent to Mr C N Gray, 13 Belgrave Crescent, Blyth, NE24 3DU  RIDERS ARE TO ENSURE BOTH NUMBERS PROVIDED ARE VISIBLE AND NOT FOLDED OVER.

Event Info

Barnesbury Cycling Clubs Chris Gray came up with a cracking course for
this years Ballantyne Trophy starting from the Noryhumbrian village
Rothbury going over Billsmoor climb in the opposite direction took
many of the riders by surprise, indeed it was left to new boy on the
block Gosforth Road clubs Andrew Beattie to climb away from the field
of sixty riders and take the first prime of the day. Twelve other
riders joined him on the descent into Elsdon, turning left up onto
Winters Gibbet, Beattie followed by teammate Johnny Powell, Shaun
Tyson Adept Precision James Alder Bishop Auckland Russell Bayliss G.S.
Metro Ben Cole V.C. Briganti Keith Murray Hope Factory Racing, Steve
Fullerton Darlington, Ray Turner Activ Cycles Corbridge to name the
main activists, on approaching the prime at Winters Gibbett Beattie
was outclassed by a fast moving Murray [lesson learnt].  As the other
riders scrambled to get to the leading two on the descent travelling
at 45 miles an hour there was a regroupment. By the bottom of the
Gibbett the leading twelve were well clear.  Onto Cambo then Scotts
Gap with two Primes on offer it was left to Shaun Tyson Adept
Precision to collect both at Rothley Craggs. After three laps of the
small finishing circuit the riders were directed towards Rothbury but
first they had to climb the dreaded Cold Rife, it was here that
Beattie decided to go it alone, no one could match him so onto the
final climb and finish.  Andrew Beattie Gosforth Road Club won very
convincingly from a small group, 2nd man and full of praise Shaun
Tyson Adept Precision with another youngster Bishop Aucklands James
Alder in 3rd place just getting the better of Berwick rider Sam Dancy.
The winners time for the 89 Klms. was 2HRS 17MINS 20SECS.

Full Results