Sam Walton Memorial Border Trophy

1. Peter Williams, Candi TV 85 miles in 3hrs 28 mins 55 secs 434834

2. Russ Downing, Candi TV @ st 405027
3. Dale Appleby, Candi TV @ 17 secs 433964
4. James Sampson, Candi TV @ 35 secs 439400 
5. Malcolm Elliott, Candi TV @ st 402255
6. Graham Briggs, Candi TV @ 1 min 37 secs 421751
7. James Moss, KUK Kinesis @ st 434906
8. John Tanner, Team Sportscover @ 8 mins 5 secs 704449
9. Mark Thwaites, Team Assos @ st 430759
10. Gareth Hewitt, Team Sabbath @ st 405499
11. Dom Munnelly, KB Cycles @ st 452804
12. Matthew Kipling, KUK Kinesis @ 9 mins 25 secs 418092
13. Kit Gilham, Sigmasport @ st 448021
14. Jack Adams, Pendragon Kalas @ 11 mins 40 secs 456508
15. Simon Baxter, Adept Precision RT @ st 443686
16. Richard Kipling, MTS / Inkland @ st 421392
17. Ian Taylor, NFM RT @ st 402181
18. Colin Humphrey, Team Sportscover @ st 451757
19. Alistair Kay, York Cycleworks @ st 402512
20. Simon Holt, Candi TV @ st 434412

Event Info

The race was run a very fast pace from the off given the wet and blustery conditions. It was run over a total distance of 85 miles on an 'out and back' course to Sharperton in Northumberland which took in a total of 4 primes, including the infamous 'Gibbet'

Although the first twenty miles were relatively flat, this did not stop the Candi TV team from asserting themselves staraight away. By the first prime of Ritton Bank @ 25 miles, all eight riders from Candi TV had gone clear of the main bunch, taking with them, James Moss (KUK Kinesis) and Matthew Kipling (KUK Kinesis), the current North East road race champion. By the time they reached Coldrife, the gap was standing at around 2 mins 30 seconds from the chasing bunch, containing last years race winner Alastair Kay (York Cycleworks) and last years King of the Mountains winner Kit Gilham (Sigmasport).

Despite a well organised chase, the bunch were unable to cope with the team strength of Candi TV / Marshalls Pasta and their lead gradually grew as the race progressed. On the climb of Bilsmoor (57 miles) their lead was approximately five minutes and the pace was quite unrelenting despite the severe weather. Local hero Matt Kipling (KUK Kinesis) was dropped by Candi TV on final climb of the Gibbet after 61 miles, leaving James Moss as the only rider able to prevent a Candi TV whitewash.

As the race headed back towards Mitford with the benefit of a strong tail wind, the pace quickened once again and both James Moss (KUK Kinesis) and Graham Briggs (Candi TV) found the pace too fast in the final ten miles and lost contact with the leaders. As the race approached Pigdon (80 miles), the eventual winner Peter Williams (Candi TV) broke away with Russ Downing (Candi TV) to contest the finishing sprint, with former Tour De France legend Malcolm Elliott (Candi TV) finishing in fifth place. Briggs and Moss finished just over 1 min 30 secs down and  John Tanner (Team Sportscover) led home the next group of riders with local lad Dom Munnellly (KB Cycles) finishing in a very respectable 11th place

Full Results