Sam Walton Trophy RR

Newton’s Farewell Victory
2010 National Premier Calender series winner Chris Newton (Rapha Condor-Sharp) bid farewell to the tough roads of Northumberland last Sunday; the roads which helped build his career, with a victory in the Sam Walton Border Trophy Road Race, promoted by Barnesbury Cycling Club, staged over a gruelling 86 mile course around Netherwitton in Northumberland. After the race, Newton announced his retirement from competitive road cycle racing and an illustrious domestic career spanning some twenty years. This year alone has seen him score victories in the Lincoln Grand Prix, the Beaumont Trophy and Tour of DoonHame.
In recent years on the track; where he is perhaps best recognised, he won Gold at the 2000 Sydney Olympics in the Team Pursuit and was an individual Bronze medallist at the Beijing Olympics 2008 to name but a few.
However, the 37 year old was made to work for his farewell race win. Riding without any team mates today and describing the race as ‘hard’ afterwards, he faced some strong northern opposition from Team Sportscover. In particular, 32 year old Collin Humphrey (Sportscover) showed his mettle. The 2008 North East Road Race Champion matched Newton in the early part of the race as the two broke clear within the first 10 miles. The pair notched a healthy lead over the chasing bunch of about two and a half minutes by the time the race reached the first Prime of Ritton Bank after 25 miles. The gap began to shorten slightly over Coldrife, and again on the descent of Ewesley Fell. By the time the race reached Elsdon village, some 40 miles into the race, Andrew Beattie (Infinity Cycles), followed by Ashley Brown (Sportscover), had closed to within one minute of the leaders. Unfortunately, Beattie was struck down by mechanical problems up the first climb of Billsmoor, leaving Brown no option but to wait for the chasing bunch. As the race headed back through Sharperton and then over the Billsmoor Prime, heading back west to Elsdon, Humphrey and Newton were still away but the gap was closing and as the race ascended Winters Gibbet Prime after 61 miles they were caught by a group of three riders which had splintered from the main bunch. The new front group now consisted of Newton, Humphrey, Jake Tanner (Sportscover), Kevin Dawson (Sportscover) and Kit Gilham (SigmaSport). The whole race threatened to regroup on the flat section of the Gibbet road towards Cambo as the new leaders hovered in front of the bunch by a mere one and a half minutes. However, on the home run, and over fast rolling roads, the leading riders asserted themselves and galvanised their advantage. The lead increased to three minutes over the bunch by the time they reached Mitford. Collin Humphrey (Sportscover) was dropped however shortly before Pigdon, most probably paying the price for his earlier efforts in the day. Chris Newton sprinted for victory into Netherwitton. The promising 18 year old Jake Tanner was second and Matt Kipling led the bunch in a further 3 minutes adrift.

Event Info


1. Chris Newton - Rapha/Condor/Sharp; 85 miles in 3hrs 32mins
2. Jake Tanner - Team Sportscover @ st
3. Kit Gilham - Sigmasport / Specialised @ st
4. Kevin Dawson - Team Sportscover @ st
5. Collin Humphrey - Team Sportscover @ 2 minutes
6. Matt Kipling - MTS Cyclesport / Inkland @ 3 minutes
7. Ashley Brown - Team Sportscover @ st
8 Alan Nixon Blackhawk bikes @ st
9. Rob Carter Velo 29 @ st
10. Chris Mark - Adept Precision RT @ st
11. Stuart Wearmouth - MTS Cyclesport / Inkland@ st
12. Simon Baxter - Adept Precision RT @ st
13. Richard Lambert - Cottingham Coureurs @ st
14. Liam Armstrong - VC Briganti @ st
15. Callum Sewell - Team Chevin @ st
16. Jon Sturman - Adept Precision @ st
17. Dom Munnelly - Activ Cycles @ st
18. Ian Taylor - Team Bglobal @ st
19. James Alder - @ st
20. Tony Fawcett - Hetton Hawkes @ st
21. Neil Baxter- ActiveCycles@17 min 10 secs
King Of Mountains – Chris Newton

Full Results