Hilly 21 Time Trial (Open)

The “Hilly 21” was originally held on the first Sunday after the clocks went forward in March and was traditionally the first time trial of the year in the North East.
Anyone who is a member of a CTT affiliated club above the age of 12 can enter on a CTT entry form and pay the entry fee. There are prizes for fastest riders, ladies, veterans, juniors and juveniles.
The race will be advertised as sponsored by the club sponsor Start Cycles.


Entries to be sent to Trevor Leightley (trevor.bikes@yahoo.co.uk): 22 Kenilworth, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE12 6NW. Please enclose a completed entry form and a cheque for £8.50 made payable to Trevor Leightly.

Closing date for postal entries is March 7th, but if places are available, then entries can be submitted in person at the club night on Wed 8th March (Womens Institute, Dinnington 7.30 - 9.00PM).

Entry Forms are available from the CTT website

Course Details

Course: M21

Start Time: 2.00pm

Start at Belsay on unclassified road 200m north of junction of A696 and B6524. Proceed north on unclassified road via Bolam Lake to junction with B6343 (6.4 miles).Turn left to Scots Gap taking the first right onto unclassified road to Rothley Cross Roads (9 miles). TAKE CARE. At Rothley Cross Roads turn left onto B6342 to Cambo where left onto B6343 to Scots Gap. Continue along B6343 to first turn right TAKE CARE onto unclassified road in direction of Belsay to finish opposite start.

View Barnesbury Hilly 21 Time Trial in a larger map

Safety Notes

No U-Turns in the vicinity of the timekeeper, no dismounting in the finishing area. Take extra care at road junctions and particularly at the t-junction for Scots Gap and the right turn for Rothley Cross Roads. No cutting corners. Watch out for potholes.

Note: No parking down to the bridge at the bottom of the hill 600m from the start or on the road to the right (B6524) leading to Whalton. All vehicles to be parked safely and without hindrance to other road users. CTT advise no parking on verges.

In the interests of your safety, we recomend that all competitors wear a hard shell helmet and use a working rear light.


  • 1st: £25
  • 2nd: £20
  • 3rd: £15
  • 4th: £12
  • 5th: £11
  • 6th: £10
  • 1st Vet on Standard: £10
  • 2nd Vet on Standard: £7.50
  • 1st Fastest Vet: £10
  • 2nd Fastest Vet: £7.50
  • 1st Team (3 Riders): £22.50 and the Paul Wildsmith Trophy
  • 1st Lady £10
  • 1st Junior: £10
  • 1st Juvenile: £10

In addition, the fastest Barnesbury Rider will win the Ken Wilkinson Trophy.

Trophies will be presented at the Club Dinner (date to be confirmed).

Event Info

Fastest Team: Teesdale CRC @ 2:39:21

The photographers you may of noticed on the course were: Furdon Photography and John Howells Photography.

Full Results

PositionRiderNameClubTimeAvg Spd
1I TaylorAdept Precision RT 47:52 26.32  
2C IsatsBerwick Wheelers 49:22 25.52  
3B LaneGS Metro 49:45 25.33 1st Vet and 2nd Vet on Standard
4E GowlandInfinity 49:46 25.32  
5M GibsonAdept Precision RT 49:49 25.29 2nd Vet and 1st Vet on Standard
6P ThirlingWestbrook Cycles 50:02 25.18  
7N PaytonBarnesbury CC 50:12 25.10 Fastest BCC Rider
8P AddymanRyton Tri 50:32 24.93  
9F MontagueCleveland Wheelers 50:58 24.72  
10B MetcalfSwift Racing 51:26 24.50  
11R RichardsonTeesdale CRC 52:16 24.11  
12J CannInfinity 52:27 24.02  
13C FenwickStay Classy RT 52:29 24.01  
14C PearethFerryhill Wheelers 52:31 23.99  
15M EdwardsTyneside Vagabonds 52:45 23.89  
16D PattersonBlackhawkbikes.com 52:45 23.89  
17T CaineBerwick Wheelers 52:47 23.87  
18M WornerTeesdale CRC 52:51 23.84  
19R MitfordCestria CC 53:15 23.66  
20D TurnbullNE31 Tri 53:21 23.62  
21C WoodClub Velo 29 53:24 23.60  
22A CosgroveTeesdale CRC 54:14 23.23  
23C LawsonVTTA 54:21 23.18  
24P FelceWestbrook Cycles 54:24 23.16  
25H HeightonFerryhill Wheelers 54:45 23.01  
26R CleatheroYorkshire Velo 55:22 22.76  
27D ManningBarnesbury CC 55:23 22.75  
28D CherryBorder City Wheelers 55:25 22.74  
29D SherrinGS Metro 56:15 22.40 1st Lady
30P HamiltonDerwentside CC 56:18 22.38  
31R BellRyton Tri 56:45 22.20  
32K SibbaldCramlington CC 57:22 21.96  
33J BowersTotal Racing 58:03 21.71  
34K GowlandInfinity 58:26 21.56 2nd Lady
35A HaleBarnesbury CC 58:40 21.48  
36C HortonBarnesbury CC 59:17 21.25  
37H JonesF4L Coaching 59:22 21.22  
38J McCourtBarnesbury CC 59:22 21.22  
39S McIntoshBarnesbury CC 59:28 21.19  
40Geoff TurnerBarnesbury CC 59:33 21.16  
41R SillWansbeck CC 59:36 21.14  
42G CoatesHadrian CRT 59:36 21.14  
43S RobertsWansbeck CC 1:00:06 20.97  
44G JohnsonBarnesbury CC 1:00:08 20.95  
45L EdwardsGosforth RC 1:00:20 20.88  
46J ThornhillBarnesbury CC 1:00:47 20.73  
47G HodgsonBarnesbury CC 1:00:53 20.70  
48J AllenBarnesbury CC 1:00:55 20.68  
49A McDermottGS Metro 1:01:08 20.61  
50S WatsonBarnesbury CC 1:01:09 20.61  
51R ThompsonDerwentside CC 1:01:17 20.56  
52C BellBarnesbury CC 1:02:08 20.28  
53H NahlerDurham University 1:02:09 20.27  
54C AllanBarnesbury CC 1:02:49 20.06  
55R MarshallCestria 1:03:28 19.85  
56B BayneBarnesbury CC 1:05:41 19.18  
57M ColeCleveland Wheelers 1:06:23 18.98  
58J ApplegarthHoughton CC 1:07:53 18.56  
59D WinthorpeTyneside Vagabonds 1:08:18 18.45