Hilly 21

Event Info:

The “Hilly 21” was originally held on the first Sunday after the clocks went forward in March and was traditionally the first time trial of the year in the North East.

Anyone who is a member of a CTT affiliated club above the age of 12 can enter on a CTT entry form and pay the entry fee. There are prizes for fastest riders, ladies, veterans, juniors and juveniles.

The race will be advertised as sponsored by the club sponsor Start Cycles.

Last Years results can be found on: http://www.barnesbury-cc.co.uk/events/2012/detail/121/Hilly-21-Time-Trial-(Open)


Entries to be sent to Ian Bryan (ianpbryanprivate@live.co.uk): 63 Marine Terrace, Blyth, NE24 2LR. Please enclose a completed CTT entry form and a cheque for £8.50 made payable to Ian Bryan. Alternatively go to www.ctt.org.uk and use the Internet Entry option. This is recommended for younger riders as it gives you the opportunity to download the necessary parental consent form which you must complete and bring with you on the day.

Closing date for postal entries is March 2nd, but it is worth checking after that [with Ian Bryan] to see if there are any places unfilled up to the evening of the 7th. Be warned though, as an early season race on a popular course the event is expected to be over- subscribed.

Entry Forms are also available from the CTT website

Event HQ

Whalton Village Hall, Whalton, Morpeth, Northumberland NE61 3XA Will be manned from 1pm. See map below for details

Course Details

Course: M21. Start Time: 2.00pm

Start at Belsay on unclassified road 200m north of junction of A696 and B6524. Proceed north on unclassified road via Bolam Lake to junction with B6343 (6.4 miles).Turn left to Scots Gap taking the first right onto unclassified road to Rothley Cross Roads (9 miles). TAKE CARE. At Rothley Cross Roads turn left onto B6342 to Cambo where left onto B6343 to Scots Gap. Continue along B6343 to first turn right TAKE CARE onto unclassified road in direction of Belsay to finish opposite start.

View Barnesbury Hilly 21 Time Trial in a larger map

Refreshments will be available after the race from 3pm onwards.

Safety Notes

A safety briefing will be available when you sign in for the race and an experienced club member will be available for younger riders and novices to discuss bike set up.

You are advised that:

  • No U-Turns are to be made in the vicinity of the timekeeper and no dismounting in the finishing area.
  • Take extra care at road junctions and particularly at the t-junction for Scots Gap and the right turn for Rothley Cross Roads.
  • No cutting corners.
  • Watch out for potholes.

Note: No parking down to the bridge at the bottom of the hill 600m from the start or on the road to the right (B6524) leading to Whalton.

All vehicles to be parked safely and without hindrance to other road users.

CTT advise no parking on verges.

In the interests of your safety, we recommend that all competitors wear a hard shell helmet and use a working rear light.


20 spaces have been made available at Belsay County First School (NE20 0ET) please do not block anyone in or park on the grass. Additional (Paid) parking is available at Bolam Country Park approx 1mile from the race start.


  • 1st: £25
  • 2nd: £20
  • 3rd: £15
  • 4th: £12
  • 5th: £11
  • 6th: £10
  • 1st Vet on Standard: £10
  • 2nd Vet on Standard: £7.50
  • 1st Fastest Vet: £10
  • 2nd Fastest Vet: £7.50
  • 1st Team (3 Riders): £22.50 and the Paul Wildsmith Trophy
  • 1st Lady £10
  • 1st Junior: £10
  • 1st Juvenile: £10

In addition, the fastest Barnesbury Rider will win the Ken Wilkinson Trophy, the first Junior will win either a helmet or sunglasses (courtesy of Start Cycles, Newcastle) and the first Barnesbury rider will also win a free bike strip and re-build service (courtesy of Ferguson’s Cycle Shop, Blyth)

Trophies will be presented at the Club Dinner (date to be confirmed).

With thanks to our event sponsors: Start Cycles 112-118 Grainger St, Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear NE1 5JQ 0191 232 9882 . http://startcycles.co.uk/

Fergusons Motors & Cycles Ltd 16 Union St, Town Centre, Blyth NE24 2DX 01670 352218 www.fergusonsbikes.co.uk

Event Info

Phots courtesy of Fursdon Photography: http://fursdonphotography.co.uk/Hilly_21.html

Full Results

PositionRiderNameClubTimeAvg Spd
1B LaneGS Metro 49:15 25.58  
2I KnightsBike Science 51:09 24.63  
3C DonaldsonGS Metro 51:48 24.32  
4M HarrisonHoughton CC 52:13 24.13  
5T AllenClay Cross RT 52:16 24.11  
6I NorrisBlumilk 52:21 24.07  
7M GibsonAdept Precision RT 52:25 24.04  
8N PaytonBarnesbury CC 52:33 23.98  
9M MallenGS Metro 53:05 23.74  
10T CaineBerwick Wheelers 53:40 23.48  
11G MountBlumilk 53:52 23.39  
12B MetcalfSwift Racing 53:54 23.38  
13M SloanesSunderland Clarion 54:45 23.01  
14N BaxterBlumilk 54:55 22.94  
15G DunsmureEMC 55:08 22.85  
16I BeveridgeSunderland Clarion 55:08 22.85  
17A ScoreyBerwick Wheelers 55:39 22.64  
18M StrangWansbeck CC 56:12 22.42  
19M BreezeBlumilk 56:39 22.24  
20G HodgsonBarnesbury CC 56:41 22.23  
21P KennellGosforth RC 57:06 22.07  
22C MatherHadrian CRT 57:19 21.98  
23K DavisonHadrian CRT 57:32 21.90  
24T WilkinsonBarnesbury CC 58:20 21.60  
25A McDermottGS Metro 58:22 21.59  
26H NahlerGosforth RC 58:31 21.53  
27R BaylissGS Metro 58:32 21.53  
28A BeekeBerwick Wheelers 58:43 21.46  
29D ManningBarnesbury CC 58:52 21.40  
30T WaterstonBarnesbury CC 59:01 21.35  
31K SibbaldCramlington CC 59:20 21.24  
32H HeightonFerryhill Wheelers 59:59 21.01  
33S MoffatHadrian CRT 1:00:44 20.75  
34P WatsonHadrian CRT 1:00:51 20.71  
35M AtkinsonCramlington CC 1:01:23 20.53  
36G JohnsonBarnesbury CC 1:01:39 20.44  
37D SherrinGS Metro 1:01:46 20.40  
38C BellBarnesbury CC 1:01:48 20.39  
39J RobsonDerwentside CC 1:01:55 20.35  
40C HortonBarnesbury CC 1:02:00 20.32  
41P AtkinsonCramlington CC 1:02:14 20.25  
42R SillWansbeck CC 1:02:30 20.16  
43N JobsonCestria CC 1:02:48 20.06  
44A WildTyne Vags 1:02:59 20.01  
45S WaltonGosforth RC 1:03:00 20.00  
46G HustonGS Metro 1:04:16 19.61  
47A WilsonCramlington CC 1:04:28 19.54  
48R HogarthTyne Vags 1:05:46 19.16  
49J WilsonBarnesbury CC 1:07:30 18.67  
50S WatsonBarnesbury CC 1:07:54 18.56  
51M ColeCleveland Wheelers 1:11:21 17.66  
52J ApplegarthHoughton CC 1:12:10 17.46  
53J WatsonCramlington CC 1:12:15 17.44  
54P DunnWansbeck CC 1:13:07 17.23  
55R StovesDerwentside CC 1:17:20 16.29  
56B BayneBarnesbury CC 1:17:50 16.19 Mech