Sam Walton Memorial Border Trophy Road Race

“Held under the technical regulations of British Cycling”

On Sunday the 29th of June 2014 at Elsdon Village Hall @ 11:00AM

Chief Commissaire:                             Mr Tim Roberts
2nd Commissaire:                                 Mr Ian Dimmick
3rd Commissaire:                                  Mr James Kennedy

Please note, No hard shell helmet no ride, there will be no neutral service and following cars are not permitted
The race is run in memory of Sam Walton, a former member of the Barnesbury.  Sam was a popular and successful racing cyclist.  Winning the Northumberland and Durham BAR, the Manchester and district BAR, the national student hill climb championship and much more.  Sam sadly died in a motor cycling accident. 

Riders are to assemble at 10.50am just outside Marion and Alan Graham’s Tearoom.. At 10.55am the race safety briefing will take place.

At 11.00am the short neutralised section will begin down the lane and across the B6341. Past the Bird and Bush to turn right on unclassified road. Riders are to give way to other road users in the neutral section. The race is be neutralised all the way up the Gibbet climb, till just after the crest by the Harwood Forest sign where the race will begin proper. The race will continue in a south easterly direction to Harwood Gate, here the race will turn right to begin four circuits. The race will head south on the B6342 to Cambo then left onto the B6343 to head in a easterly direction.

At Scot’s Gap the race will turn left onto unclassified road north. The race will continue to prime at Rothley crags, then onto Rothley crossroads. At Rothley cross roads the race will turn left to head in an easterly direction back to Harwood gate to complete one circuit.

Complete a further three circuits or Harwood/Cambo.Scots Gap/Rothley. Then the race turns right at Harwood Gate to head in a north westerly direction. Continue past Winter’s Gibbet and onto Elsdon. At the end of the village green turn right onto the B6341 continue to prime at Bilsmoor. Then continue on the b6341 to Swindon to begin 4 laps of top circuit. Continue on the B6341 to Flotterton, then turn left onto unclassified road to head in a north westerly direction. Continue to prime immediately after turn on Greenside bank/hill. Continue to Sharperton, then just after crossing the Coquet Bridge turn left onto unclassified road towards Holystone, skirt the southern edge of Holystone then continue onto T junction at Swindon to complete one lap. Here turn left and complete a further 3 laps. After 4 laps turn right at Swindon back onto the B6341 to head in a Westerly direction. Continue to finish race at the top of Bilsmoor for a race distance of 85 mile. Note the final ascent of Bilsmoor will count for king of the mountains points.

Please note litter is not required either inElsdon, or discarded on the course of the race. Any complaints regarding the race should be made in writing, and should be addressed to the event secretary, Christopher Gray, Bothiebrigg Cottage, Charleston, Nigg, Aberdeen, AB12 3TP.

No Rider Club Cat
1 Terence Wilkinson Barnesbury CC- Start Cycles 3
2 William Brown Achieve Skinnergate 1
3 Ben Hetherington Achieve Skinnergate 1
4 Jack Rees Achieve- Skinnergate 1
5 Thomas Timothy Achieve Skinnergate 1
6 Steve Williamson Achieve- Skinnergate 3
7 James Anderson Adept Precision RT 2
8 Bryan Pool Annan 2010 racing 3
9 Tim Allen Arrow Cycles 1
10 Ian Norris 2
11 Nick Spencer 2
12 Adrian Lawson Cadence RT 2
13 James Alder Cycleways sports 1
14 Joe Brown  Cycleways sports 3
15 Ruari Grant Durham University CC 2
16 Jonathan Davey Edinburgh RC 3
17 Robert Sheilds GS Metro 2
18 Jonathan Wears Kingsnorth International Wheelers 2
19 Ralf Hodgson Marton RT Junior
20 James Jobber Neon Valley CT 1
21 Michael Aspey Northumbria Police CC 3
22 Matty Cooper NRG/Godleys 2
23 Karl Denton Ouseburn Coffee Company 2
24 Stephen Gibson Peak RC 2
25 Tony Grassby Peak RC 2
26 Archie Cross PH-MAS Cycling 3
27 Patrick Pennefather Rock to Roll Cycles 2
28 Duncan Moralee Strategic Lions RT 1
29 Jonathan Cregreen Team Wallis CHH 2
30 Ryan Fenwick The Rigmar Racers 2
31 Rob Carter TS Racing Team 2
32 David Lewis-Smith Tyneside Vagabonds  3
33 Matthew Kipling Velo29 events 1
34 David Shackleton Wilsons Wheels RT Elite
35 Nathan Wilson Wilsons Wheels RT 1
36 Callum Grieve www.twenty3c 2
37 Christopher Clark York Cycleworks 3
38 Alastair Kay York Cycleworks 1
39 Richard Allen Private Member 3
40 Martin Ford Private Member Elite


The winner of the race will be presented with The Sam Walton Memorial Border Trophy after the race, to be held for 1 year.  The overall winner of the King of the Mountains will be presented with the Wilkinson Sword dagger, to be held for one year.

The race will be ran to break even financially this been the case cash prizes will be presented upon the day were available. 

Please note there will be three primes, Bilsmoor out and return and Rothley Hall (first lap).  If on the day the race is short of prime judges primes maybe omitted all together.

The first rider on the Bilsmoor primes will be awarded 6 points, then 4 for second and 2 points for third.  The Rothley prime will be three points for 1st over, then 2 points for second, and 1 point for third. 

Full Results