Club 10

Event Sponsored By

Sims Cycle Workshop

Cycle repairs and service for all makes of bicycle, spare parts and professional wheel building service in the heart of Northumberland.

The Barnesbury Club 10s will again be running in 2016 on the M102B.

The organiser this year is Brian Bayne, and you can get in touch with us via the Contact Form.

Start Times and Rider Limits:

Date(s) First Rider Off Max Riders
20th April - 11th May 18:31 45*
18th May - 27th July 18:46 60*
3rd Aug - 10th Aug 18:31 60*
17th Aug - 24th Aug 18:31 45*

*The max no of riders is subject to change depending on light and weather conditions or anything that is likely to effect the safety of the event.


£3 for Barnesbury Members, £4 for all other riders.

All riders are welcome to compete in these events if your club is affiliated to Cycling Time Trials.

If you are a new rider or not a member of an affiliated cycling club, you are also welcome to come along and have a go, however if you want to continue riding these events you will need to join a local CTT affiliated club.

Marshalling Rota

The Club 10's cannot run without marshalls and it is expected that all regular riders will marshall at least once in the season.

To ensure that we have the required number of marshalls at each event we have introduced a Queue Jumper system where if you volunteer to marshal on a specifc date then we will allow you to pre-book your start time for any 2 subsequent events (nb - this is subject to change depending on the popularity of the scheme). Given the popularity of the Club 10's this will be well worth doing.

You can register for this system either by asking at the sign on at the events or contacting us via the contact form on this site.

We strongly recommend (in all conditions) the use of a rear light.

Check out yours, your rivals, your mates and your Clubs times over the season(s) in the Club 10 Stato


Will be published below. If you notice any errors, please use the contact form to let us know.

Route Map

Sign-on is on Nelson way at the Junction with Colbourne Avenue. Approx nearest Post Code is: NE23 1WD


For good quality reprints of photo's in our galleries, contact us via the contact form.

Event Info

Great conditions tonight for the TT. Sunny, warm and 10-12 SW winds - the ideal direction. Surprisingly not a full field, but plenty of PBs for those that did ride. Congrats to: T Wilcock, N Payton, T Waterston, M Atkinson, L Whitelaw, R Hughes, I Mackie, J Johnson, S Marks, N Cranston, M Johnson, A Elkin who all PB'd.

Neil Payton broke his own Barnesbury record for the course by 7 seconds. Credit to Tony Waterson for beating the previous club record time, but unfortunately by starting after Neil, he didn't get to hold the record.

Many thanks to the Official and Marshals: Eric and Dennis at the start, Trevor at the finish, David and Phil (Blaydon) at Plessey, Neil (NS Poly) and Gareth at the 'shoes, and Pete and Alan (Sund Clarion) at Crowhall. Jack and Eric with cameras.

Full Results

PositionRiderNameClubTimeAvg Spd
1T WilcockGS Metro 20:00 30.00  
2M StrangBreeze Bikes 20:31 29.24  
3B MetcalfTeam Swift 20:31 29.24  
4K AtkinTeam Bottrill 20:35 29.15  
5C HumphreySG Cycleways 20:46 28.89  
6K WhitelawMuckle CC 20:47 28.87  
7L McDermottBreeze Bikes 21:01 28.55  
8N PaytonBarnesbury CC 21:14 28.26  
9T WaterstonBarnesbury CC 21:17 28.19  
10A WilsonCramlington CC 21:20 28.13  
11T IrwinTyne Vags 21:48 27.52  
12D MaddenBarnesbury CC 21:56 27.36  
13S GibbsTyne Vags 21:56 27.36  
14K DavisonHadrian RT 22:06 27.15  
15R WaltonBlaydon CC 22:09 27.09  
16P WatsonHadrian RT 22:17 26.93  
17M AtkinsonCramlington CC 22:21 26.85  
18L WhitelawCramlington CC 22:22 26.83  
19D TurnbullTyne & Wear Fire 22:31 26.65  
20D DixonGosforth RC 22:34 26.59 J
21I DoughtyBarnesbury CC 23:00 26.09  
22R HughesTyne Vags 23:01 26.07  
23I MackieEMC 23:02 26.05  
24J DixonNewcastle Phoenix 23:06 25.97 J
25J JohnsonBarnesbury CC 23:29 25.55  
26S KennedyTri North 23:37 25.41  
27I FaulderVTTA 23:44 25.28  
28K SibbaldCramlington CC 24:02 24.97  
29S MarksTyne Tri 24:13 24.78  
30N CranstonBarnesbury CC 24:15 24.74  
31J AllenBarnesbury CC 24:40 24.32  
32G HallAlnwick Tri 24:50 24.16  
33D BallantyneEMC 25:01 23.98  
34B BoakTyne Vags 25:05 23.92  
35M JohnsonBarnesbury CC 25:07 23.89  
36A ElkinCramlington CC 25:16 23.75 J
37K BoakVCUK PHMAS 25:27 23.58 JW
38J WatsonCramlington CC 26:10 22.93  
39M DuffyN Shields Poly 27:13 22.05  
40P CobbGosforth RC 27:48 21.58  
41M CobbGosforth RC 28:38 20.95  
42M ThompsonAlnwick Tri 28:52 20.79