Club 10

The Barnesbury Club 10s will again be running in 2017 on the M102B.

The organiser this year is Brian Bayne, and you can get in touch with us via the Contact Form.

Start Times and Rider Limits:

Date(s) First Rider Off Max Riders
26th April - 10th May 18:31 45*
17th May - 26th July 18:46 60*

*The max no of riders is subject to change depending on light and weather conditions or anything that is likely to effect the safety of the event.


£3 for Barnesbury Members, £4 for all other riders.

All riders are welcome to compete in these events if your club is affiliated to Cycling Time Trials.

If you are a new rider or not a member of an affiliated cycling club, you are also welcome to come along and have a go, however if you want to continue riding these events you will need to join a local CTT affiliated club.

Sign on usually open around 17:30 depending on how long it takes to set the course out, and will be open for an hour.

Riders must sign on for themselves and numbers are given on a 1st come, 1st served basis. Exceptions will be made for riders that volunteer to marshal (with a specific date), young riders (early teens) so that they aren't on the course too late, or in exceptional circumstances with agreement from the Event Sec.

Riders are reminded:

  •  Be considerate and respectful towards the local businesses and area, especially in regard to parking, littering, warming up. DO NOT BLOCK or HINDER access to the HTL Group premises (the one with the flags).
  •  Queue/chat/use rollers on the paths not on the road. Always ensure space is available for pedestrians to pass safely.
  •  You need to know, understand and adhere to the Highway Code. If you can't then you have no place racing on the road. If you feel the need to run after the event, use the paths and if you must run on the road, run on the right so you can see oncoming traffic.
  • If it's your 1st time riding feel free to let us know at sign on and we'll happily offfer any advice.

It is your responsibility to familiarise yourself with the route. Turns are signposted or marshalled. Marshals are there for you safety, not to tell you it's safe to enter a roundabout - that's your job as a rider to determine(see Highway Code).

Marshalling Rota

The Club 10's cannot run without marshalls and it is expected that all regular riders will marshall at least once in the season.

To ensure that we have the required number of marshalls at each event we have introduced a Queue Jumper system where if you volunteer to marshal on a specifc date then we will allow you to pre-book your start time for any 2 subsequent events (nb - this is subject to change depending on the popularity of the scheme). Given the popularity of the Club 10's this will be well worth doing.

You can register for this system either by asking at the sign on at the events or contacting us via the contact form on this site.

We strongly recommend (in all conditions) the use of a rear light and a hardshell helmet.

Check out yours, your rivals, your mates and your Clubs times over the season(s) in the Club 10 Stato


Will be published below. If you notice any errors, please use the contact form to let us know.

Route Map

Sign-on is on Nelson way at the Junction with Colbourne Avenue. Approx nearest Post Code is: NE23 1WD


For good quality reprints of photo's in our galleries, contact us via the contact form.

Event Info

Another reasonable, if not ideal night weather wise: Sunny, around 10 deg C with a 14 mph NE Wind.

Congrats to the winner Harry Walker who unusually was riding a geared bike rather than the usual fixie.

It was great to see some classic equipment tonight - Cramlington's Adam Wilson, and Ben Othen from the Barnesbury both on classic bikes and even Steve Clarke on the 'shoes brought a bit of Carradice style to the marshalling.

Don't forget folks, you don't have to have a top end TT bike to ride the 10s - as long as it's roadworthy and CTT Reg compliant, you're welcome to ride it. Tandems and trikes are also welcome, although sadly we haven't seen many of these recently.

Special mention should go to  Dan Meggison from the Barnesbury,  who came 3rd tonight with a cracking 22:01, 26 seconds better than last week and tonight was only his 2nd ever C10. Dan is now leading the Tom Porter Trophy standings with 20 points. In 2nd Position is John Routledge with 18 points and 3rd is Dean on 15 points

Many thanks to the marshals and helpers - Sharon, Trevor, John, Adam, Steve, Eric, Jack and Pete.

Full Results

PositionRiderNameClubTimeAvg Spd
1H WalkerTeam Swift 21:17 28.19  
2N MartinGS Metro 21:56 27.36  
3D MeggisonBarnesbury CC 22:01 27.25  
4l TimminsMuckle CC 22:02 27.23  
5S KennedyNTR 22:29 26.69  
6K HallSunderland Clarion 23:01 26.07  
7J RoutledgeBarnesbury CC 23:02 26.05  
8D NearneySouth Shields Velo Cycling Club 23:02 26.05  
9D StowCramlington CC 23:11 25.88  
10K DavisonHadrian CRT 23:11 25.88  
11L WhitelawCramlington CC 23:20 25.71  
12S DoddBarnesbury CC 23:30 25.53  
13D MaddenBarnesbury CC 23:40 25.35  
14B OthenBarnesbury CC 24:15 24.74  
15J DixonRacing Metro 15 24:20 24.66 J
16J JohnsonBarnesbury CC 24:28 24.52  
17D HordonBarnesbury CC 24:30 24.49  
18K SibbaldCramlington CC 24:45 24.24  
19A WilsonCramlington CC 25:02 23.97  
20D BallantyneEMC 25:23 23.64  
21C HortonBarnesbury CC 25:48 23.26  
22S UnderhillBarnesbury CC 25:54 23.17  
23D AndersonSouth Shields Velo Cycling Club 26:35 22.57  
24J AllenBarnesbury CC 26:40 22.50  
25N DickN Shields Poly 26:40 22.50  
26K MutchTyne Vags 26:57 22.26 J
27S MutchTyne Vags 27:40 21.69 J F
28C BirchTri North 29:08 20.59  
29Carl GreavesCramlington CC 29:30 20.34  
30K DavisN Shields Poly 30:20 19.78 W
31Cassandra GreavesCramlington CC 30:44 19.52 W
32G DaviesBarnesbury CC 34:32 17.37