Club 10

The Barnesbury Club 10s will again be running in 2017 on the M102B.

The organiser this year is Brian Bayne, and you can get in touch with us via the Contact Form.

Start Times and Rider Limits:

Date(s) First Rider Off Max Riders
26th April - 10th May 18:31 45*
17th May - 26th July 18:46 60*

*The max no of riders is subject to change depending on light and weather conditions or anything that is likely to effect the safety of the event.


£3 for Barnesbury Members, £4 for all other riders.

All riders are welcome to compete in these events if your club is affiliated to Cycling Time Trials.

If you are a new rider or not a member of an affiliated cycling club, you are also welcome to come along and have a go, however if you want to continue riding these events you will need to join a local CTT affiliated club.

Sign on usually open around 17:30 depending on how long it takes to set the course out, and will be open for an hour.

Riders must sign on for themselves and numbers are given on a 1st come, 1st served basis. Exceptions will be made for riders that volunteer to marshal (with a specific date), young riders (early teens) so that they aren't on the course too late, or in exceptional circumstances with agreement from the Event Sec.

Riders are reminded:

  •  Be considerate and respectful towards the local businesses and area, especially in regard to parking, littering, warming up. DO NOT BLOCK or HINDER access to the HTL Group premises (the one with the flags).
  •  Queue/chat/use rollers on the paths not on the road. Always ensure space is available for pedestrians to pass safely.
  •  You need to know, understand and adhere to the Highway Code. If you can't then you have no place racing on the road. If you feel the need to run after the event, use the paths and if you must run on the road, run on the right so you can see oncoming traffic.
  • If it's your 1st time riding feel free to let us know at sign on and we'll happily offfer any advice.

It is your responsibility to familiarise yourself with the route. Turns are signposted or marshalled. Marshals are there for you safety, not to tell you it's safe to enter a roundabout - that's your job as a rider to determine(see Highway Code).

Marshalling Rota

The Club 10's cannot run without marshalls and it is expected that all regular riders will marshall at least once in the season.

To ensure that we have the required number of marshalls at each event we have introduced a Queue Jumper system where if you volunteer to marshal on a specifc date then we will allow you to pre-book your start time for any 2 subsequent events (nb - this is subject to change depending on the popularity of the scheme). Given the popularity of the Club 10's this will be well worth doing.

You can register for this system either by asking at the sign on at the events or contacting us via the contact form on this site.

We strongly recommend (in all conditions) the use of a rear light and a hardshell helmet.

Check out yours, your rivals, your mates and your Clubs times over the season(s) in the Club 10 Stato


Will be published below. If you notice any errors, please use the contact form to let us know.

Route Map

Sign-on is on Nelson way at the Junction with Colbourne Avenue. Approx nearest Post Code is: NE23 1WD


For good quality reprints of photo's in our galleries, contact us via the contact form.

Event Info

Reasonable conditions for the 10 tonight after a few days of poor weather. Winds 7/8mph from the SE, and a strange mix of overcast/drizzle and sunshine for the later riders.

Many thanks to the marshals and helpers: John M, John H, Sharon,  Nicola, Thomas, Lewis, Shaun, Eric, Trevor, Pete & Jack

PBs for  M Bradshaw (00:28:04, -103 secs), S Knight (00:22:13, -86 secs), A Thorp (00:25:33, -84 secs), J Johnson (00:21:56, -13 secs), T Brown (00:21:39, -2 secs)

Remember folks - no 10 next week as we are running the Open 10 on the same course and same times. Normal 10s resume on Wed 19th July.

Full Results

PositionRiderNameClubTimeAvg Spd
1C DonaldsonGS Metro 19:45 30.38  
2H WalkerTeam Swift 21:06 28.44  
3D MeggisonBarnesbury CC 21:11 28.32  
4A JarpsManilla 21:12 28.30 J
5T BrownNTR 21:39 27.71  
6D StowCramlington CC 21:55 27.38  
7J JohnsonBarnesbury CC 21:56 27.36  
8S GibbsTyne Vags 21:58 27.31  
9K ThursbyTyne Vags 21:58 27.31  
10I TaylorBlumilk 22:13 27.01  
11S KnightRyton Tri 22:13 27.01  
12N PaytonBarnesbury CC 22:21 26.85  
13E McCoyGS Metro 22:42 26.43  
14S KennedyNTR 22:43 26.41  
15P KennellGosforth RC 22:45 26.37  
16D DixonGosforth RC 22:45 26.37 J
17K DavisonHadrian CRT 22:50 26.28  
18D MaddenBarnesbury CC 22:59 26.11  
19C FenwickTeam Swift 23:03 26.03  
20L WhitelawCramlington CC 23:06 25.97  
21P RiderTyne Vags 23:12 25.86  
22M HarrisNPCC 23:14 25.82  
23S DoddBarnesbury CC 23:33 25.48  
24G HallAlnwick Tri 23:51 25.16  
25David LinsleyTyne & Wear Fire 23:53 25.12  
26D HordonBarnesbury CC 24:01 24.98  
27M HindmarchMuckle CC 24:12 24.79  
28I FaulderVTTA 24:21 24.64  
29P IfflandNPCC 24:38 24.36  
30J DixonRacing Metro 15 24:48 24.19 J
31A DavisonTri North 25:17 23.73  
32N DickN Shields Poly 25:21 23.67  
33M WellsTyne Vags 25:30 23.53 J
34A ThorpNorth Racing 25:33 23.48  
35M RasmussenTyne Vags 25:38 23.41  
36R BellDerwentside CC 25:42 23.35  
37K SibbaldCramlington CC 26:06 22.99  
38P MannersBarnesbury CC 26:07 22.97  
39B BayneBarnesbury CC 26:37 22.54  
40D FullerGS Metro 27:12 22.06  
41C BrookesNTR 27:21 21.94 W
42J MasseyCramlington CC 27:58 21.45 W
43M BradshawGS Metro 28:04 21.38  
44G DaviesBarnesbury CC 32:41 18.36