Club 10

The Barnesbury Club 10s will again be running in 2017 on the M102B.

The organiser this year is Brian Bayne, and you can get in touch with us via the Contact Form.

Start Times and Rider Limits:

Date(s) First Rider Off Max Riders
26th April - 10th May 18:31 45*
17th May - 26th July 18:46 60*

*The max no of riders is subject to change depending on light and weather conditions or anything that is likely to effect the safety of the event.


£3 for Barnesbury Members, £4 for all other riders.

All riders are welcome to compete in these events if your club is affiliated to Cycling Time Trials.

If you are a new rider or not a member of an affiliated cycling club, you are also welcome to come along and have a go, however if you want to continue riding these events you will need to join a local CTT affiliated club.

Sign on usually open around 17:30 depending on how long it takes to set the course out, and will be open for an hour.

Riders must sign on for themselves and numbers are given on a 1st come, 1st served basis. Exceptions will be made for riders that volunteer to marshal (with a specific date), young riders (early teens) so that they aren't on the course too late, or in exceptional circumstances with agreement from the Event Sec.

Riders are reminded:

  •  Be considerate and respectful towards the local businesses and area, especially in regard to parking, littering, warming up. DO NOT BLOCK or HINDER access to the HTL Group premises (the one with the flags).
  •  Queue/chat/use rollers on the paths not on the road. Always ensure space is available for pedestrians to pass safely.
  •  You need to know, understand and adhere to the Highway Code. If you can't then you have no place racing on the road. If you feel the need to run after the event, use the paths and if you must run on the road, run on the right so you can see oncoming traffic.
  • If it's your 1st time riding feel free to let us know at sign on and we'll happily offfer any advice.

It is your responsibility to familiarise yourself with the route. Turns are signposted or marshalled. Marshals are there for you safety, not to tell you it's safe to enter a roundabout - that's your job as a rider to determine(see Highway Code).

Marshalling Rota

The Club 10's cannot run without marshalls and it is expected that all regular riders will marshall at least once in the season.

To ensure that we have the required number of marshalls at each event we have introduced a Queue Jumper system where if you volunteer to marshal on a specifc date then we will allow you to pre-book your start time for any 2 subsequent events (nb - this is subject to change depending on the popularity of the scheme). Given the popularity of the Club 10's this will be well worth doing.

You can register for this system either by asking at the sign on at the events or contacting us via the contact form on this site.

We strongly recommend (in all conditions) the use of a rear light and a hardshell helmet.

Check out yours, your rivals, your mates and your Clubs times over the season(s) in the Club 10 Stato


Will be published below. If you notice any errors, please use the contact form to let us know.

Route Map

Sign-on is on Nelson way at the Junction with Colbourne Avenue. Approx nearest Post Code is: NE23 1WD


For good quality reprints of photo's in our galleries, contact us via the contact form.

Event Info

After a few days of miserable weather, there appeared to be a window of opportunity opening up for a “float” night at the last Club 10 of the season. Conditions were about as good as they get with light cloud, a bit of sunshine, 8mph SW/SWW Winds and a temp of around 18 deg C. What could go wrong – oh, wait a minute – road-works!! The SOS went up the previous evening when a certain Mr Carl Donaldson raised the alarm of cones just down from the start line.

Most of Wednesday morning was spent making frantic phone calls and course visits to get the obstacles removed with the promise of a fast night on the cards.

Just to make it more interesting a car crash happened on the 'shoes on our exit junction 30 mins before the start. Luckily it was cleared before the 1st rider set off (Cheers to Tim W for going out of his way and riding down to tell us).

Thankfully, it all paid off. Carl Donaldson set away with No. 19 on his back and smashed the course record previously set by Danny Grieves (19min 18secs) set at the Barnesbury Open 10 on 12th July, 2017 – Carl notched up an impressive 19:05.  Carl's G.S. Metro Team-mate Danny Grieves went off a few spots later at No. 23, and crossed the finish line at 18:55, securing his season’s ambition to go under the 19 minute mark on the M102B course. Unfortunately, Banks Mining decided that it was an appropriate night to arrange for two humongous earth-moving machines to come off site on the back of low loaders, and sadly Gareth Davies (Barnesbury), Daniel Dixon (Gosforth) were two of the riders who were stopped behind them for some time – hard luck lads!

Danny’s Garmin was telling him that he had achieved his season’s ambition of going under 19 minutes on the Club 10 course, but he just needed confirmations from the Timekeeper (who is always right!).  As his result was written up, it was only fitting that he received a generous round of applause from everyone present.

Many thanks to the marshals and helpers: Sharon, Michael, Andy, Jack, Eric, Matt, Trevor & Pete. Remember folks, the main reason we are cutting the season short this season is that it's a right pain getting marshals in August, so if you offer to help, we'll happily run the events.

PB's were recorded for the following riders:

 A Bailey (00:21:56, -261 secs), J Hodgson (00:26:48, -161 secs), A Thorp (00:23:40, -113 secs), O Hanlon (00:25:16, -65 secs), S Brannan (00:22:45, -58 secs), P Wright (00:22:55, -47 secs), H Baker (00:25:32, -47 secs), K Spence (00:23:26, -36 secs), H Walker (00:20:00, -31 secs), A Scovey (00:20:54, -30 secs), D Grieves (00:18:55, -28 secs), C Donaldson (00:19:05, -27 secs), D King (00:26:15, -18 secs), S Kennedy (00:21:28, -14 secs), Z Kyffin (00:20:02, -12 secs), K Hall (00:22:45, -10 secs), A Wilson (00:21:06, -3 secs), D Ballantyne (00:24:12, -2 secs)

Remember - PB's are in the context of the Club 10's only, and don't include any Open results (even on the same course)

Full Results

PositionRiderNameClubTimeAvg Spd
1D GrievesGS Metro 18:55 31.72 CR
2C DonaldsonGS Metro 19:05 31.44 CR
3H WalkerTeam Swift 20:00 30.00  
4Z KyffinGS Metro 20:02 29.95  
5A ScoveyGS Metro 20:54 28.71  
6A WilsonCramlington CC 21:06 28.44  
7D StowCramlington CC 21:24 28.04  
8S KennedyNTR 21:28 27.95  
9D NietoWigmore CC 21:46 27.57  
10D MaddenBarnesbury CC 21:53 27.42  
11A BaileyGS Metro 21:56 27.36  
12N PaytonBarnesbury CC 22:00 27.27  
13K DavisonHadrian CRT 22:38 26.51  
14M AtkinsonCramlington CC 22:40 26.47  
15S BrannanMuckle CC 22:45 26.37  
16K HallSunderland Clarion 22:45 26.37  
17P WrightBlaydon CC 22:55 26.18  
18J CorfieldGosforth RC 22:57 26.14 J
19C FenwickTeam Swift 22:58 26.12  
20K SpenceBarnesbury CC 23:26 25.60  
21D DixonGosforth RC 23:28 25.57 J
22A ThorpNorth Racing 23:40 25.35  
23I FaulderVTTA 23:44 25.28  
24K SibbaldCramlington CC 23:46 25.25  
25P IfflandNorthumbria Police CC 23:50 25.17  
26D BallantyneEMC 24:12 24.79  
27R BellDerwentside CC 24:38 24.36  
28O HanlonMuckle CC 25:16 23.75 J F
29J AllenBarnesbury CC 25:20 23.68  
30H BakerNTR 25:32 23.50 W
31D FullerGS Metro 26:09 22.94  
32D KingTri North 26:15 22.86  
33J HodgsonBarnesbury CC 26:48 22.39 J
34P MannersBarnesbury CC 26:56 22.28  
35J MasseyCramlington CC 27:52 21.53 W
36C PriorTri North 28:36 20.98 W
37N McCoyNorth Racing 28:58 20.71 W
38C Roper- 31:30 19.05  
39L Price- 33:15 18.05 W
40G DaviesBarnesbury CC 33:31 17.90  
41Jake HodgsonBarnesbury CC 34:40 17.31 J
42T PrincePont Tri 38:47 15.47 mech