Club 10

The Barnesbury Club 10s will again be running in 2018 on the M102B.

The organiser this year is Brian Bayne, and you can get in touch with us via the Contact Form.

Start Times and Rider Limits:

Date(s) First Rider Off Max Riders
25th April - 9th May 18:31 45*
16th May - 20th June 18:46 60*
27th June 19:01 40*
4th July-1st Aug 18:46 60*

*The max no of riders is subject to change depending on light and weather conditions or anything that is likely to effect the safety of the event.


£3 for Barnesbury Members, £4 for all other riders.

All riders are welcome to compete in these events if your club is affiliated to Cycling Time Trials.

If you are a new rider or not a member of an affiliated cycling club, you are also welcome to come along and have a go, however if you want to continue riding these events you will need to join a local CTT affiliated club.

Sign on usually open around 17:30 depending on how long it takes to set the course out, and will be open for an hour.

Riders must sign on for themselves and numbers are given on a 1st come, 1st served basis. Exceptions will be made for riders that volunteer to marshal (with a specific date), young riders (early teens) so that they aren't on the course too late, or in exceptional circumstances with agreement from the Event Sec.

Riders are reminded:

  •  Be considerate and respectful towards the local businesses and area, especially in regard to parking, littering, warming up. DO NOT BLOCK or HINDER access to the HTL Group premises (the one with the flags).
  •  Queue/chat/use rollers on the paths not on the road. Always ensure space is available for pedestrians to pass safely.
  •  You need to know, understand and adhere to the Highway Code. If you can't then you have no place racing on the road. If you feel the need to run after the event, use the paths and if you must run on the road, run on the right so you can see oncoming traffic.
  • If it's your 1st time riding feel free to let us know at sign on and we'll happily offfer any advice.

It is your responsibility to familiarise yourself with the route. Turns are signposted or marshalled. Marshals are there for you safety, not to tell you it's safe to enter a roundabout - that's your job as a rider to determine(see Highway Code).

Marshalling Rota

The Club 10's cannot run without marshalls and it is expected that all regular riders will marshall at least once in the season.

To ensure that we have the required number of marshalls at each event we have introduced a Queue Jumper system where if you volunteer to marshal on a specifc date then we will allow you to pre-book your start time for any 2 subsequent events (nb - this is subject to change depending on the popularity of the scheme). Given the popularity of the Club 10's this will be well worth doing.

You can register for this system either by asking at the sign on at the events or contacting us via the contact form on this site.

We strongly recommend (in all conditions) the use of a rear light and a hardshell helmet.

Check out yours, your rivals, your mates and your Clubs times over the season(s) in the Club 10 Stato


Will be published below. If you notice any errors, please use the contact form to let us know.

Route Map

Sign-on is on Nelson way at the Junction with Colbourne Avenue. Approx nearest Post Code is: NE23 1WD


For good quality reprints of photo's in our galleries, contact us via the contact form.

Event Info

It appears that quite a few stayed away tonight due to the miserable weather forecast, however it turned out to be excellent conditions, with dry and (school holiday) quiet roads, decent visibility, surprisingly warm 15C and quite still despite 10mph northerly winds. A shunt between cars on the 'shoes slowed the traffic down too making it easier for the riders.

All riders back safely and no reports back of any head down or centre line riding, so a happy organiser too.

PBs for L Turnbull (00:25:23, -31 secs), N Badcock (00:20:51, -18 secs), M Jesset (00:23:10, -8 secs), K Hall (00:22:38, -7 secs), D Linsley (00:22:48, -3 secs)

Many thanks to the Marshalls and helpers: John (BCC), Chris (BCC), Alun (S Clarion), Simon (BCC), James (Blaydon), Gareth (BCC), Eric (BCC), Trevor (BCC) and Jack

Photos credits: Jack Earl and Eric Potts. It may take a few days for all photos to get to me, so check back in a few days.

Full Results

PositionRiderNameClubTimeAvg Spd
1N BadcockAllen Valley Velo 20:51 28.78  
2H FletcherBlaydon CC 21:29 27.93  
3M StrangBreeze Bikes 21:45 27.59  
4J RoutledgeBarnesbury CC 21:48 27.52  
5A WilsonCramlington CC 21:55 27.38  
6D DixonGosforth RC 21:55 27.38 J
7J JohnsonBarnesbury CC 22:00 27.27  
8S KnightRyton Tri 22:23 26.81  
9K HallSunderland Clarion 22:38 26.51  
10M WellsTyne Vags 22:39 26.49 J
11D LinsleyTyne and Wear Fire & Rescue CC 22:48 26.32  
12M JessetBoompods 23:10 25.90 W
13I FaulderVTTA 24:18 24.69  
14K SibbaldCramlington CC 24:25 24.57  
15D BallantyneEMC 25:07 23.89  
16L TurnbullPhysiohaus 25:23 23.64 W
17J AllenBarnesbury CC 25:49 23.24  
18I McLeanTyne Vags 26:10 22.93  
19A McGregorTyne Vags 27:32 21.79  
20S WillisEMC 27:39 21.70  
21S AllanGS Metro 27:41 21.67  
22D FullerGS Metro 27:46 21.61  
23P MannersBarnesbury CC 27:54 21.51  
24D FalcusCramlington CC 28:01 21.42  
25S RichardsonBarnesbury CC 28:20 21.18  
26D KingTri North 29:01 20.68  
27J W DixonGosforth RC 29:22 20.43 J
28N McCoySc Gothic 29:38 20.25 W
29K Purvis- 31:02 19.33 J W