Club 10

The Barnesbury Club 10s will again be running in 2018 on the M102B.

The organiser this year is Brian Bayne, and you can get in touch with us via the Contact Form.

Start Times and Rider Limits:

Date(s) First Rider Off Max Riders
25th April - 9th May 18:31 45*
16th May - 20th June 18:46 60*
27th June 19:01 40*
4th July-1st Aug 18:46 60*

*The max no of riders is subject to change depending on light and weather conditions or anything that is likely to effect the safety of the event.


£3 for Barnesbury Members, £4 for all other riders.

All riders are welcome to compete in these events if your club is affiliated to Cycling Time Trials.

If you are a new rider or not a member of an affiliated cycling club, you are also welcome to come along and have a go, however if you want to continue riding these events you will need to join a local CTT affiliated club.

Sign on usually open around 17:30 depending on how long it takes to set the course out, and will be open for an hour.

Riders must sign on for themselves and numbers are given on a 1st come, 1st served basis. Exceptions will be made for riders that volunteer to marshal (with a specific date), young riders (early teens) so that they aren't on the course too late, or in exceptional circumstances with agreement from the Event Sec.

Riders are reminded:

  •  Be considerate and respectful towards the local businesses and area, especially in regard to parking, littering, warming up. DO NOT BLOCK or HINDER access to the HTL Group premises (the one with the flags).
  •  Queue/chat/use rollers on the paths not on the road. Always ensure space is available for pedestrians to pass safely.
  •  You need to know, understand and adhere to the Highway Code. If you can't then you have no place racing on the road. If you feel the need to run after the event, use the paths and if you must run on the road, run on the right so you can see oncoming traffic.
  • If it's your 1st time riding feel free to let us know at sign on and we'll happily offfer any advice.

It is your responsibility to familiarise yourself with the route. Turns are signposted or marshalled. Marshals are there for you safety, not to tell you it's safe to enter a roundabout - that's your job as a rider to determine(see Highway Code).

Marshalling Rota

The Club 10's cannot run without marshalls and it is expected that all regular riders will marshall at least once in the season.

To ensure that we have the required number of marshalls at each event we have introduced a Queue Jumper system where if you volunteer to marshal on a specifc date then we will allow you to pre-book your start time for any 2 subsequent events (nb - this is subject to change depending on the popularity of the scheme). Given the popularity of the Club 10's this will be well worth doing.

You can register for this system either by asking at the sign on at the events or contacting us via the contact form on this site.

We strongly recommend (in all conditions) the use of a rear light and a hardshell helmet.

Check out yours, your rivals, your mates and your Clubs times over the season(s) in the Club 10 Stato


Will be published below. If you notice any errors, please use the contact form to let us know.

Route Map

Sign-on is on Nelson way at the Junction with Colbourne Avenue. Approx nearest Post Code is: NE23 1WD


For good quality reprints of photo's in our galleries, contact us via the contact form.

Event Info

Great conditions for the Barnesbury 10 tonight: Sunny, approx. 13degC with 8mph NNE winds. Harry Walker yet again showed you only need one gear (although a massive one) to win a race.

Congrats to the following who all achieved PBs tonight:

L McCarron (00:23:36, -147 secs), A Harrison (00:23:02, -68 secs), M Kitching (00:28:59, -46 secs), K Hopper (00:26:06, -42 secs), J Routledge (00:21:11, -31 secs), N Badcock (00:20:29, -22 secs), P Kennell (00:21:53, -22 secs), M Wells (00:22:10, -19 secs), T Wilkinson (00:21:25, -18 secs), S Allan (00:26:51, -11 secs), D Dixon (00:21:04, -2 secs)

Many thanks to the marshals and helpers: Eric (BCC), Chris (BCC), John (BCC), Alun (Sund C), Ian (Vags), David (TW Fire), Trevor (BCC) and Jack.

Photos will appear here when I get them.

Full Results

PositionRiderNameClubTimeAvg Spd
1H WalkerRevolver Racing 20:17 29.58  
2N BadcockAllen Valley Velo 20:29 29.29  
3D DixonGosforth RC 21:04 28.48 J
4N MartinGS Metro 21:07 28.41  
5J RoutledgeBarnesbury CC 21:11 28.32  
6T WilkinsonBarnesbury CC 21:25 28.02  
7C FenwickTeam Swift 21:36 27.78  
8P KennellAllen Valley Velo 21:53 27.42  
9M WellsTyne Vags 22:10 27.07 J
10K HallSunderland Clarion 22:44 26.39  
11P RiderTyne Vags 22:45 26.37  
12N PaytonBarnesbury CC 22:48 26.32  
13K DavisonHadrian RT 22:52 26.24  
14A HarrisonBarnesbury CC 23:02 26.05  
15D MaddenBarnesbury CC 23:16 25.79  
16L McCarronBarnesbury CC 23:36 25.42  
17K SpenceTyne Vags 23:39 25.37  
18M HarrisNPCC 23:42 25.32  
19P WilkinsonCramlington CC 23:59 25.02  
20D BallantyneEMC 24:39 24.34  
21C HortonBarnesbury CC 24:50 24.16  
22S MarksNTR 24:50 24.16  
23A DavisonTri North 25:21 23.67  
24J AllenBarnesbury CC 25:42 23.35  
25K HopperBlaydon CC 26:06 22.99  
26S WatsonBarnesbury CC 26:25 22.71  
27P MannersBarnesbury CC 26:38 22.53  
28S AllanGS Metro 26:51 22.35  
29Pete WatsonBarnesbury CC 26:53 22.32 J
30C BurnsNTR 26:57 22.26 W
31D FullerGS Metro 27:05 22.15  
32G DavisonBarnesbury CC 27:08 22.11  
33G DixonSc Gothic 27:20 21.95  
34D KingTri North 27:34 21.77  
35D FalcusCramlington CC 27:38 21.71  
36J W DixonGosforth RC 28:58 20.71 J
37M KitchingNTR 28:59 20.70  
38M ShermanCramlington CC 29:41 20.21  
39W HallNTR 31:45 18.90 J
40G DaviesBarnesbury CC 32:06 18.69  
41J HodgsonBarnesbury CC 35:02 17.13 J