Club 10

The Barnesbury Club 10s will again be running in 2018 on the M102B.

The organiser this year is Brian Bayne, and you can get in touch with us via the Contact Form.

Start Times and Rider Limits:

Date(s) First Rider Off Max Riders
25th April - 9th May 18:31 45*
16th May - 20th June 18:46 60*
27th June 19:01 40*
4th July-1st Aug 18:46 60*

*The max no of riders is subject to change depending on light and weather conditions or anything that is likely to effect the safety of the event.


£3 for Barnesbury Members, £4 for all other riders.

All riders are welcome to compete in these events if your club is affiliated to Cycling Time Trials.

If you are a new rider or not a member of an affiliated cycling club, you are also welcome to come along and have a go, however if you want to continue riding these events you will need to join a local CTT affiliated club.

Sign on usually open around 17:30 depending on how long it takes to set the course out, and will be open for an hour.

Riders must sign on for themselves and numbers are given on a 1st come, 1st served basis. Exceptions will be made for riders that volunteer to marshal (with a specific date), young riders (early teens) so that they aren't on the course too late, or in exceptional circumstances with agreement from the Event Sec.

Riders are reminded:

  •  Be considerate and respectful towards the local businesses and area, especially in regard to parking, littering, warming up. DO NOT BLOCK or HINDER access to the HTL Group premises (the one with the flags).
  •  Queue/chat/use rollers on the paths not on the road. Always ensure space is available for pedestrians to pass safely.
  •  You need to know, understand and adhere to the Highway Code. If you can't then you have no place racing on the road. If you feel the need to run after the event, use the paths and if you must run on the road, run on the right so you can see oncoming traffic.
  • If it's your 1st time riding feel free to let us know at sign on and we'll happily offfer any advice.

It is your responsibility to familiarise yourself with the route. Turns are signposted or marshalled. Marshals are there for you safety, not to tell you it's safe to enter a roundabout - that's your job as a rider to determine(see Highway Code).

Marshalling Rota

The Club 10's cannot run without marshalls and it is expected that all regular riders will marshall at least once in the season.

To ensure that we have the required number of marshalls at each event we have introduced a Queue Jumper system where if you volunteer to marshal on a specifc date then we will allow you to pre-book your start time for any 2 subsequent events (nb - this is subject to change depending on the popularity of the scheme). Given the popularity of the Club 10's this will be well worth doing.

You can register for this system either by asking at the sign on at the events or contacting us via the contact form on this site.

We strongly recommend (in all conditions) the use of a rear light and a hardshell helmet.

Check out yours, your rivals, your mates and your Clubs times over the season(s) in the Club 10 Stato


Will be published below. If you notice any errors, please use the contact form to let us know.

Route Map

Sign-on is on Nelson way at the Junction with Colbourne Avenue. Approx nearest Post Code is: NE23 1WD


For good quality reprints of photo's in our galleries, contact us via the contact form.

Event Info

Another lovely evening for the BCC 10, Sunny and warm at approx. 20C with easterly 8mph winds.

PBs for the following riders:

J Johnson (2UP) (00:21:04, -52 secs), D Bowler (00:24:57, -47 secs), G Tye (00:24:18, -46 secs), W Sharman (00:25:15, -16 secs), T Hutchinson (00:19:49, -15 secs), E McCoy (00:21:59, -11 secs), T Wilkinson (2UP) (00:21:04, -4 secs), C Brookes (00:23:59, -2 secs)

Many Thanks to the marshals and helpers: Russ (Vags), John (BCC), Eric (BCC), Alun (Clarion), Ian (Breeze), Russell (Cram), Sharon (BCC) and Trevor (BCC)

Full Results

PositionRiderNameClubTimeAvg Spd
1T HutchinsonTyne Vags 19:49 30.28  
2C DonaldsonGS Metro 20:14 29.65  
3H WalkerRevolver Racing 20:34 29.17  
4K AtkinTeam Bottrill 20:42 28.99  
5P HallBreeze Bikes 20:49 28.82  
6N BadcockAllen Valley Velo 20:51 28.78  
7J JohnsonBarnesbury CC 21:04 28.48 2UP
8T WilkinsonBarnesbury CC 21:04 28.48 2UP
9A WilsonCramlington CC 21:38 27.73  
10E McCoyGS Metro 21:59 27.29  
11C HumphreyDerwentside CC 22:10 27.07  
12I TailorBlumilk 22:15 26.97  
13D MaddenBarnesbury CC 22:18 26.91  
14K HallSunderland Clarion 22:35 26.57  
15D LinsleyTyne & Wear Fire 22:54 26.20  
16M HarrisNPCC 23:20 25.71  
17P RobsonHoughton CC 23:29 25.55  
18A HarrisonBarnesbury CC 23:31 25.51  
19C IsatsBerwick Wheelers 23:36 25.42  
20K DavisonHadrian RT 23:36 25.42  
21K SpenceTyne Vags 23:46 25.25  
22M RasmussenTyne Vags 23:51 25.16  
23C BrookesNTR 23:59 25.02 W
24I HorsleyAlnwick Tri 24:15 24.74  
25G TyePhysiohaus 24:18 24.69  
26L McCarronBarnesbury CC 24:36 24.39  
27D BowlerStockton Wheelers 24:57 24.05  
28K SibbaldCramlington CC 24:59 24.02  
29D BallantyneEMC 25:11 23.83  
30W SharmanBelper CC 25:15 23.76  
31T McCannBarnesbury CC 25:16 23.75  
32M BradshawGS Metro 25:37 23.42  
33R BellDerwentside CC 25:42 23.35  
34J AllenBarnesbury CC 26:18 22.81  
35D FalcusCramlington CC 26:20 22.78  
36C BurnsNTR 27:03 22.18 W
37V GibbsNTR 27:05 22.15 W
38C MurrayTyne Vags 27:14 22.03  
39S AllanGS Metro 27:22 21.92  
40D FullerGS Metro 27:22 21.92  
41T SampleBreeze Bikes 27:45 21.62 W
42M HallBreeze Bikes 27:49 21.57 W J
43Max BreezeAlnwick Tri 28:48 20.83 J
44J MurphyTyne Vags 29:17 20.49 W
45G DaviesBarnesbury CC 30:49 19.47  
46K DavisN Shields Poly 30:58 19.38 W