Club 10

The Barnesbury Club 10s will again be running in 2019 on the M102B.

The organiser this year is Brian Bayne, and you can get in touch with us via the Contact Form.

Start Times and Rider Limits:

Date(s) First Rider Off Max Riders
24th April - 8th May 18:31 45*
15th May - 24th July 18:46 60*
31st July 18:46 45*
7th August 18:31 45*

*The max no of riders is subject to change depending on light and weather conditions or anything that is likely to effect the safety of the event.


£4 for Barnesbury Members, £5 for all other riders. Please note - the price rises this year are entirely due to CTT raising their 'levies'.

All riders are welcome to compete in these events if your club is affiliated to Cycling Time Trials.

If you are a new rider or not a member of an affiliated cycling club, you are also welcome to come along and have a go, however if you want to continue riding these events you will need to join a local CTT affiliated club.

Sign on usually open around 17:30 depending on how long it takes to set the course out, and will be open for an hour.

Riders must sign on for themselves and numbers are given on a 1st come, 1st served basis. Exceptions will be made for riders that volunteer to marshal (with a specific date), young riders (early teens) so that they aren't on the course too late, or in exceptional circumstances with agreement from the Event Sec.

Riders are reminded:

  •  Be considerate and respectful towards the local businesses and area, especially in regard to parking, littering, warming up. DO NOT BLOCK or HINDER access to the HTL Group premises (the one with the flags).
  •  Queue/chat/use rollers on the paths not on the road. Always ensure space is available for pedestrians to pass safely.
  •  You need to know, understand and adhere to the Highway Code. If you can't then you have no place racing on the road. If you feel the need to run after the event, use the paths and if you must run on the road, run on the right so you can see oncoming traffic.
  • If it's your 1st time riding feel free to let us know at sign on and we'll happily offfer any advice.

It is your responsibility to familiarise yourself with the route. Turns are signposted or marshalled. Marshals are there for you safety, not to tell you it's safe to enter a roundabout - that's your job as a rider to determine(see Highway Code).

Marshalling Rota

The Club 10's cannot run without marshalls and it is expected that all regular riders will marshall at least once in the season.

To ensure that we have the required number of marshalls at each event we have introduced a Queue Jumper system where if you volunteer to marshal on a specifc date then we will allow you to pre-book your start time for any 2 subsequent events (nb - this is subject to change depending on the popularity of the scheme). Given the popularity of the Club 10's this will be well worth doing.

You can register for this system either by asking at the sign on at the events or contacting us via the contact form on this site.

We strongly recommend (in all conditions) the use of a rear light and a hardshell helmet.

Check out yours, your rivals, your mates and your Clubs times over the season(s) in the Club 10 Stato


Will be published below. If you notice any errors, please use the contact form to let us know.

Route Map

Sign-on is on Nelson way at the Junction with Colbourne Avenue. Approx nearest Post Code is: NE23 1WD


For good quality reprints of photo's in our galleries, contact us via the contact form.

Event Info

The 1st Club 10 of the season, with a decent turnout despite the chilly temps, a few new riders and only one adventurer deciding to explore the spine road.

Conditions: Overcast, 9mph ENE Winds and a bit chilly. 993 hPa

Despite the non favourable wind, well done to the following riders who PB'd tonight:  M Charlton (00:25:10, -90 secs), S Richardson (00:27:28, -52 secs), E McCoy (00:21:18, -41 secs), N McCoy (00:27:21, -39 secs), K Spence (00:22:54, -32 secs), M Rasmussen (00:23:13, -30 secs), J Routledge (00:20:41, -27 secs), F Turnbull (00:24:17, -23 secs), A Wilde (00:24:17, -20 secs), C Brookes (00:23:52, -7 secs)

Congratulations to Barnesburys John Routledge who not content with taking the Clubs 20 y/o  Hilly 21 record has now taken the Barnesbury Club 10 Record with a time of 20:41 - 22 seconds faster than Dan Meggison's record set back in 2017.

Many thanks to the Marshals & officials: Terry (BCC), Sharon (BCC), Chris (BCC), Sam (BCC), Keith (Zeus), John  (BCC) and Trevor (BCC)

Full Results

PositionRiderNameClubTimeAvg Spd
1J RoutledgeBarnesbury CC 20:41 29.01  
2H WalkerRevolver Racing 20:56 28.66  
3L WakeTeam Kirkley Cycles 20:56 28.66  
4E McCoyGS Metro 21:18 28.17  
5N BadcockAllen Valley Velo 21:48 27.52  
6A WilsonCramlington CC 21:49 27.50  
7C BeatyAllen Valley Velo 21:52 27.44  
8M SmithNewcastle Cheviot 21:58 27.31  
9H FletcherBlaydon CC 22:02 27.23  
10J JohnsonBarnesbury CC 22:46 26.35  
11K SpenceTyne Vags 22:54 26.20  
12A HarrisonBarnesbury CC 22:57 26.14  
13M RasmussenTyne Vags 23:13 25.84  
14L McCarronBarnesbury CC 23:26 25.60  
15K DavisonHadrian CRT 23:51 25.16  
16C BrookesBlaydon CC 23:52 25.14 W
17F TurnbullTyne Vags 24:17 24.71  
18A WildeAlnwick Tri 24:17 24.71  
19Phil WatsonHadrian CRT 24:18 24.69  
20J W DixonGosforth RC 24:19 24.67 J
21T McCannBarnesbury CC 24:52 24.13  
22M CharltonBarnesbury CC 25:10 23.84  
23Pete WatsonBarnesbury CC 25:13 23.79 J
24A DavisonTri North 25:15 23.76  
25W SharmanBarnesbury CC 25:25 23.61  
26D BallantyneEMC 25:28 23.56  
27R GlennieBarnesbury CC 25:30 23.53  
28P ValentineBlaydon CC 25:45 23.30  
29S HillBarnesbury CC 26:04 23.02  
30S WatsonBarnesbury CC 27:20 21.95  
31N McCoyMuckle CC 27:21 21.94 W
32S RichardsonBarnesbury CC 27:28 21.84  
33D WilsonCramlington CC 28:03 21.39  
34F WildeAlnwick Tri 28:55 20.75  
35G DaviesBarnesbury CC 31:33 19.02