Club 10

The Barnesbury Club 10s will again be running in 2019 on the M102B.

The organiser this year is Brian Bayne, and you can get in touch with us via the Contact Form.

Start Times and Rider Limits:

Date(s) First Rider Off Max Riders
24th April - 8th May 18:31 45*
15th May - 24th July 18:46 60*
31st July 18:46 45*
7th August 18:31 45*

*The max no of riders is subject to change depending on light and weather conditions or anything that is likely to effect the safety of the event.


£4 for Barnesbury Members, £5 for all other riders. Please note - the price rises this year are entirely due to CTT raising their 'levies'.

All riders are welcome to compete in these events if your club is affiliated to Cycling Time Trials.

If you are a new rider or not a member of an affiliated cycling club, you are also welcome to come along and have a go, however if you want to continue riding these events you will need to join a local CTT affiliated club.

Sign on usually open around 17:30 depending on how long it takes to set the course out, and will be open for an hour.

Riders must sign on for themselves and numbers are given on a 1st come, 1st served basis. Exceptions will be made for riders that volunteer to marshal (with a specific date), young riders (early teens) so that they aren't on the course too late, or in exceptional circumstances with agreement from the Event Sec.

Riders are reminded:

  •  Be considerate and respectful towards the local businesses and area, especially in regard to parking, littering, warming up. DO NOT BLOCK or HINDER access to the HTL Group premises (the one with the flags).
  •  Queue/chat/use rollers on the paths not on the road. Always ensure space is available for pedestrians to pass safely.
  •  You need to know, understand and adhere to the Highway Code. If you can't then you have no place racing on the road. If you feel the need to run after the event, use the paths and if you must run on the road, run on the right so you can see oncoming traffic.
  • If it's your 1st time riding feel free to let us know at sign on and we'll happily offfer any advice.

It is your responsibility to familiarise yourself with the route. Turns are signposted or marshalled. Marshals are there for you safety, not to tell you it's safe to enter a roundabout - that's your job as a rider to determine(see Highway Code).

Marshalling Rota

The Club 10's cannot run without marshalls and it is expected that all regular riders will marshall at least once in the season.

To ensure that we have the required number of marshalls at each event we have introduced a Queue Jumper system where if you volunteer to marshal on a specifc date then we will allow you to pre-book your start time for any 2 subsequent events (nb - this is subject to change depending on the popularity of the scheme). Given the popularity of the Club 10's this will be well worth doing.

You can register for this system either by asking at the sign on at the events or contacting us via the contact form on this site.

We strongly recommend (in all conditions) the use of a rear light and a hardshell helmet.

Check out yours, your rivals, your mates and your Clubs times over the season(s) in the Club 10 Stato


Will be published below. If you notice any errors, please use the contact form to let us know.

Route Map

Sign-on is on Nelson way at the Junction with Colbourne Avenue. Approx nearest Post Code is: NE23 1WD


For good quality reprints of photo's in our galleries, contact us via the contact form.

Event Info

Good Condition tonight's once the early evening dark skies cleared, with Sunny Conditions, 14deg C, favourable 9mph SW Winds, and pressure of 1004mb.

The Barnesbury Club record was broken for the 3rd time this season, this time by Terry Wilkinson taking John's 7 day old record by 3 seconds. Barnesburys Pete Watson's training for the HPV Worlds this summer appears to be going will with a PB tonight of 23:55.

It was great to see lots of new riders and Juniors this evening, and it looks like Daniel Dixon may have taken the Junior record for the course this evening with 20:17.

Well done to the following riders who all PB's this evening:

 A Heatley (00:23:00, -78 secs), Pete Watson  (00:23:55, -42 secs), L Wake (00:20:16, -40 secs), T Conway (00:29:26, -38 secs), J W Dixon (00:23:42, -37 secs), T Wilkinson (00:20:32, -32 secs), R Smith (00:25:34, -24 secs), D Dixon (00:20:17, -21 secs), S Allan (00:26:31, -7 secs), A Davison (00:24:30, -6 secs)

Photos on this page by Eric Potts, Jacks photos can be found here:

Many thanks to the marshals and helpers: Sharon (BCC), Chris (BCC), Eric (BCC), John (BCC), Adam (BCC), Michael (BCC) and Trevor (BCC).

Full Results

PositionRiderNameClubTimeAvg Spd
1Z KyffinRibble Pro Cycling 19:34 30.66  
2L WakeTeam Kirkley Cycles 20:16 29.61  
3D DixonGosforth RC 20:17 29.58 J
4H WalkerRevolver Racing 20:24 29.41  
5T WilkinsonBarnesbury CC 20:32 29.22  
6S KennedyMuckle CC 21:17 28.19  
7A WilsonCramlington CC 21:25 28.02  
8N MartinGS Metro 21:27 27.97  
9J JohnsonBarnesbury CC 21:40 27.69  
10A SmithN Shields Poly 21:57 27.33  
11D MaddenBarnesbury CC 22:14 26.99  
12N PaytonBarnesbury CC 22:17 26.93  
13D LinsleyTyne & Wear Fire 22:37 26.53  
14A WinterbottomGS Metro 22:39 26.49  
15R ClarkeTyne Vags 22:46 26.35  
16Philip WatsonHadrian CRT 22:47 26.34  
17K DavisonHadrian CRT 22:50 26.28  
18A HeatleyTyne & Wear Fire 23:00 26.09  
19J W DixonGosforth RC 23:42 25.32 J
20K SibbaldZeus CRT 23:44 25.28  
21Pete WatsonBarnesbury CC 23:55 25.09 J
22A DavisonTri North 24:30 24.49  
23W SharmanBarnesbury CC 24:45 24.24  
24R ExleyGosforth RC 25:10 23.84  
25R KirbyTyne & Wear Fire 25:10 23.84  
26S WatsonBarnesbury CC 25:11 23.83  
27T McCannBarnesbury CC 25:11 23.83  
28M RowellTyne & Wear Fire 25:21 23.67  
29R SmithInfinity 25:34 23.47 W
30A MurdochRacing Metro 15 25:54 23.17 J
31C HarlowNTR 25:56 23.14 W
32S AllanGS Metro 26:31 22.63  
33J NormanBreeze Bikes 26:35 22.57 W
34N DickN Shields Poly 26:44 22.44  
35D WilsonCramlington CC 26:51 22.35  
36H HallBreeze Bikes 26:52 22.33 J
37D JabaRacing Metro 15 28:30 21.05 J
38T ConwayAlnwick CC 29:26 20.39 W
39G DaviesBarnesbury CC 31:47 18.88